Many partners across Northeast Ohio worked together to make the “Where Are the Workers” research and analysis possible. The Fund for Our Economic Future would like to express gratitude for the following organizations and individuals and acknowledge their significant contributions to this effort. We are also deeply grateful to the 600+ employers and 5,000+ individuals who shared their experiences, opinions and hopes through this research.

Execution Partners

Center for Marketing and Opinion Research (CMOR)


The Corporate University, Kent State University at Stark

Double Sugar Content Studio

Aaron Hirsh

New Growth Group


Summit and Medina Workforce Area Council of Governments

Team NEO

The Fund would also like to acknowledge the input of the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland Community Development Department on the analysis.


Fund for Our Economic Future

Cuyahoga County*

Deaconess Foundation*

The Kresge Foundation

Summit & Medina Workforce Area Council of Governments**

* Supported effort directly and through Fund membership

** This workforce product was partially funded by a grant awarded by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Employment and Training Administration. The product was created by the recipient and does not necessarily reflect the official position of the U.S. Department of Labor. The Department of Labor makes no guarantees, warranties, or assurances of any kind, express or implied, with respect to such information, including any information on linked sites and including, but not limited to, accuracy of the information or its completeness, timeliness, usefulness, adequacy, continued availability, or ownership. This product is copyrighted by the institution that created it. Internal use by an organization and/or personal use by an individual for non-commercial purposes is permissible. All other uses require the prior authorization of the copyright owner.


Fund for Our Economic Future Board of Directors

*as of July 2022

Susan Althans, McGregor Foundation

Cindy Andrews, Community Foundation of Lorain County

Marcia Ballinger, Lorain County Community College Foundation

Cathy Belk, Deaconess Foundation

Adam Briggs, Briggs Family Funds

Vikki Broer, Weathertop Foundation

Lisa Camp, Case Western Reserve University

Eric Clark, The Bruening Foundation

David Ford, Abington Foundation

Meredith Gadsby, Civic Member

William Gary, Cuyahoga Community College

Jani Groza, Westfield Insurance Foundation

Trevelle Harp, Civic Member

Shari Harrell, Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley

Paul Herdeg, Cuyahoga County

Karen Hooser, Reinberger Foundation

Deb Hoover, Burton D. Morgan Foundation

Treye Johnson, Civic Member

Patrick Kelly, FirstEnergy Corp.

Sue Krey, Sisters of Charity Foundation of Cleveland

The Fund for Our Economic Future is a network of philanthropic, higher education, community development, private sector, economic development, and civic leaders collectively investing in efforts to understand what matters, advance what works and prepare for what’s next to grow an inclusive economy in Northeast Ohio. Learn more and join us.

Ray Leach, JumpStart

Phoebe Lee, Civic Member

Teresa LeGrair, Civic Member

Ricardo León, Civic Member

Christine Mayer, GAR Foundation

Tania Menesse, Cleveland Neighborhood Progress

Jim Petrus, ESP Charitable Ventures LLC

John Petures, Akron Community Foundation

Yentil Rawlinson, Civic Member

Tony Richardson, The George Gund Foundation

Jennifer Roller, Raymond John Wean Foundation

Victor Ruiz, Civic Member

Mark Samolczyk, Stark Community Foundation

Bill Seelbach, The George W. Codrington Charitable Foundation

Baiju Shah, Greater Cleveland Partnership

Emily Thome, Third Federal Foundation

Tim Tramble, Saint Luke’s Foundation

Fund for Our Economic Future Staff

Bethia Burke, President

Bishara Addison

Peter Anagnostos

Carolyn Cleveland

Janine Kaiser

Reanna Karousis

Jane Hale McMullen

Sean Watterson

Brad Whitehead

Employer Roundtable Hosts and Survey Partners

Akron Urban League

Alliance for Working Together Foundation


Business Growth Collaborative

City of Aurora

City of Cleveland

City of Ravenna

Cleveland Neighborhood Progress

Community Foundation of Mahoning Valley


Cuyahoga County Department of Development

Deaconess Foundation


Erie County Economic Development Corp.

Firelands Forward

Geauga Growth Partnership

Greater Akron Chamber

Greater Cleveland Partnership

Grow Ashland

Growth Partnership for Ashtabula County

Hispanic Business Center


Lake County Workforce Development Board

Lake County Commissioners

Lorain County Chamber of Commerce

Lorain County Community College Small Business Development Center

Lorain County Workforce


Manufacturing Works

Medina County Economic Development

Norwalk Economic Development,

Portage County Economic Development Board

The Presidents Council

Richland Area Chamber & Economic Development

Stark Economic Development Board

Urban League of Greater Cleveland

Wayne Economic Development Council

Western Reserve Port Authority

Youngtown Business Incubator

Youngstown Warren Regional Chamber

Working-age Adult Focus Group Hosts and Partners

Vision of Change

Environmental Health Watch

Esperanza Inc.

Union-Miles Development Corporation